Mostar – A quintessential Turkish Experience

Mostar is one of the most frequented attractions in the region of Bosnia, due to its outstanding natural beauty, architecture, and, of course, its famous UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Stari the Bridge. To my surprise, I saw a mini Istanbul there.

Mostar is a city in southern Bosnia and Herzegovina, straddling the Neretva River, my next destination. The name Mostar comes from the word most, which means bridge, and it can be translated as “The bridge keeper”.  The town is  famous for its iconic bridge across the Neretva river, which is one of the UNESCO heritage site. I first visited Sitari, the bridge which was built during the ottoman  empire around 500 years ago but was destroyed, in 1993 during war between Croatia and Bosnia-Herzegovina’s. Even the ruins and the reconstructed bridge is a breath taking sight.

Mostar

Then we visited the nearby market, which had  Turkish influence  with traditional Arabic markets full of items like the hookah, very beautiful porcelain tea sets which have tiny tea cups which reminded me of the Istanbul markets. It was a crowded, colourful streets and lively atmosphere, where lot of bargaining could be done, which made my shopping more appealing. I spend a long time wandering through the bazaar picking up trinkets and souvenirs of these unique place. Along with these, one of my favourite was a range of silk scarves, with beautiful motifs, made me shop till I dropped.

Then we visited an old Turkish house, called Kajtaz in Mostar. The house was about 300 years old, was a timbered structured, full of many artifacts, carved wooden boxes, intricately woven carpets, old attires, accessories and a fountain inside the compound of the house. There was a room where guests were welcomed and then the private residence where the muslim ladies dwelt and carried on with their daily lives.

From there we visited, Koski Mehmet-Pasha Mosque was originally built in 1618 and, while it’s been rebuilt over the years, has a minaret that can be climbed for amazing views. However, I did not climb up, but entered the inner courtyard off the main road and had a peek inside the complex.  The diversity of western and eastern architectural styles can be seen all around town . I felt like I visited Istanbul, and I recommend this place in your Croatia Tour Itinerary.

What to Eat:

Turkish Coffe, Burek, dolma . The food is not complete without the Baklava – the  desserts which is made of dry fruits and is wrapped up in pastry. If you like Mediterrian cuisine, Turkish food then you will love the food here.

Leave a comment